Get Adobe Flash player

Jagna amass 5 regional awards

The Municipality of Jagna amassed a total of 5 regional awards during the National Nutrition Council 7′s 2012 Grand Nutrition Awards last July 3, 2012 held at the Cebu City Sports Club, Cebu City.

The awards are 2011 Outstanding Municipality in the Region; 2011 Municipal Nutrition Green Banner Awardee; 2011 Outstanding Municipality in the Region Banner Awardee; Ms. Anita Ocmeja, Outstanding Municipal Nutrition Action Officer; and Ms. Elizabeth Sajulga, Outstanding Municipal Nutrition Program Coordinator.

The awards were given in recognition of the best practices of the Municipal Nutrition Council (MNC) through its “successful implementation of nutrition and related projects that helped in lowering the malnutrition rate in Jagna from 4.16% in 2010 to 3.87% in 2011”. Among the projects that impacted pre-school children and the constituents of Jagna are NutriMix Production, Gulayan sa BNC, MNC Garden, Manna Pack Daily Feeding and Malunggay Powder Production. Programs related to nutrition education especially on breastfeeding promotion and proper nutrition are major programs of Jagna’s MNCs. All these programs along with Philhealth coverage assures the vulnerable population of Jagna to be taken cared of. According to the NNC 7, “Jagna has successfully managed the implementation of the Municipal Nutrition Action Plan (MNAP), creating sustainable nutrition projects and formed linkages with organizations that have greatly impacted the citizens especially the pre-school children”.

This is the second time for the Municipality to win the four awards except for the 2011 Outstanding Municipality in the Region Banner Awardee.

Mayor Abrenilla expressed his thanks to the Municipal Nutrition Council for working together effectively in the implementation of nutrition programs in the municipality. He also lauded Ms. Anita Ocmeja and Ms. Elizabeth Sajulga who are workers par excellence in the implementation of nutrition programs of the municipality.

Present during the conferring are Mayor Fortunato R. Abrenilla; Ms. Anita G. Ocmeja; Ms. Elizabeth Sajulga; Dr. Raymund Claudio and Ms. Brigida Aceron.




Who's Online
5 visitors online now
0 guests, 5 bots, 0 members

Rate your satisfaction rating of the current LGU Services

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...